+75 Hours

Steven L

  • $0.00 - $30.00/hour
  • Bachelor's Degree
  • Background Check Completed On Jan 12, 2017
  • based on 1 reviews

I'm a statistics specialist! I love tutoring and helping people learn topics that might otherwise frustrate them. I get a lot of satisfaction from teaching and mentoring others, especially if it helps ease their stress. My teaching methods usually focus on overall problem solving (approaches, mindsets, comfort with the unknown) before focusing on the actual solution. I like to go in-depth and ask my tutees to solve new variations on problems as practice, rather than simple repetition, as depth of processing is something I consider important, particularly in mathematics and statistics. As for my education, I have graduated from the University of Alberta and have a Bachelor of Science with Specialization in Statistics, with my last 3 years holding a First Class Standing (GPA >= 3.5). I would also like to note that I have previous tutoring experience outside of TutorTag in tutoring statistics (both formal and informal). Of particular interest, I worked with the Golden Mentors Program at the University of Alberta. Courses that I'm extremely comfortable tutoring which are offered at the University of Alberta include STAT 151, STAT 252, STAT 265, and STAT 266. NAIT/Other Program equivalents would essentially include the first few statistics classes, up to and including beginning to use integrals and derivatives to solve problems (STAT 151 and 252 do not include these). I am also very comfortable with any intro-level economics, psychology, and mathematics at university level, as I have a lot of experience with these topics (even if my degree title doesn't portray this). Anything below these courses (such as high school level math and physics), I would also be very comfortable tutoring. Recently I even had some experience tutoring pipefitting/steamfitting as well! As stated, anything below university level is totally fine and I truly mean it. I look forward to helping you succeed!

Steven Speaks the following languages:

English (Native Or Bilingual)

Steven's relevant education:

University of Alberta (BSc with Specialization in Statistics)

Steven's availabilities:

Mondays between 11:00am and 3:00pm
Tuesdays between 11:00am and 7:00pm
Wednesdays between 11:00am and 5:00pm
Fridays between 11:00am and 5:00pm
Saturdays between 12:00pm and 4:00pm

Tutor's the following subjects:

Intro Statistics $30/hr (home)   Math 10-3 $30/hr (home)   Math 10C $30/hr (home)   Math 20-1 $30/hr (home)   Math 20-2 $30/hr (home)   Math 20-3 $30/hr (home)   Math 30-1 $30/hr (home)   Math 30-2 $30/hr (home)   Math 31 $30/hr (home)   Math Grades 3-6 $30/hr (home)   Math Grades 7-9 $30/hr (home)   Physics 20 $30/hr (home)   Spelling and Reading Grades 1-6 $30/hr (home)  

Tutor's in:

Allendale  Bearspaw  Belgravia  Blue Quill  Duggan  Ekota  Ellerslie  Empire Park  Ermineskin  Garneau  Glengarry  Greenfield  Greenview  Hillview  view more communities...

"My daughters grades improved noticibly, even after just one session. Steven put her at ease, and communicated common math problems, strategies for solving, and somehow made it fun to learn. Yes math that was fun to learn haha!!! Steven taught in a way that my daughter could understand the concepts and apply to her school work. My daughter is more confident in her knowledge of grade 8 math now, and her teachers have praised her improvement. Thank you Steven!!! You rock!!"
Communication:
Punctuality:
Preparedness:
Connection:
Helpfulness:

Steven Activity On Our Free Chat Board

On May 19, 2017 at 8:40pm, Steven answered a question. On May 19, 2017 at 8:42pm, Steven answered a question.

*No monthly commitment or contracts. Only on demand when you need it.
*Keep in mind that these are just general availabilities and does not account for sessions already booked during these times *Plans are a way that a tutor can offer bulk purchases of tutoring for deep discounts. If you plan on doing multiple sessions with tutors, we recommend choosing a plan.

Questions? Call us at (780) 666-4726