+10 Hours

Janna W

  • $35.00 - $40.00/hour
  • PhD
  • Background Check Completed On Mar 29, 2020

I’m your friendly neighbourhood optometrist - literally! I love sharing my enthusiasm for math and science, and am passionate about making the subjects accessible to my students. While my background in undergrad and optometry focused heavily on biology, physics, and chemistry, I also have extensive experience with mathematics (including differential and integral calculus, algebra, and trigonometry). I have always enjoyed teaching and tutoring - I tutored mathematics throughout high school and university as my part time job, and was a teaching assistant in optometry school. I have experience teaching everything from procedures (e.g. how to use microscopes), to ocular disease and visual perception. I am very enthusiastic about learning and have always found teaching to be a very rewarding experience. I believe if you aren’t learning, you aren’t growing! I am very understanding and patient, and enjoy helping others find a way to understand the subject - even if it takes a few different ways to get there! I believe that tutoring is not just about going over the equations and information, but also focusing on strategies and tools that will help students learn, connect, and retain the information. In my free time I do lots of rock climbing and bouldering, as I really enjoy the combination of strength and problem solving required to complete the routes. I just started teaching myself how to woodwork with hand tools, and I plan to eventually be able to make my own furniture. I’m learning the basics of python coding, and even made a simple program to streamline a task for my day job. I went to university for eight years, so a short time after I graduated I started to miss the subjects that I had spent so long studying! That’s where tutoring comes in – I love that I’m able to help students understand the topics that have been a part of me for so long.

Janna Speaks the following languages:

English (Native Or Bilingual)

Janna's relevant education:

Pacific University - Doctorate of Optometry University of Calgary - Bachelor of Science in Biology

Janna's availabilities:

Tutor's the following subjects:

Chemistry 20 $35/hr (online)   Chemistry 30 $35/hr (online)   Introductory Chemistry $35/hr (online)   Introductory Physics $35/hr (online)   Math 20-1 $35/hr (online)   Math 30-1 $35/hr (online)   Math 31 $35/hr (online)   Math Grades 3-6 $35/hr (online)   Math Grades 7-9 $35/hr (online)   Physics 20 $35/hr (online)   Physics 30 $35/hr (online)   Science 10 $35/hr (online)   Science 20 $35/hr (online)   Science 30 $35/hr (online)   Science Grades 7-9 $35/hr (online)   Math 249 $35/hr (online)  

Janna Activity On Our Free Chat Board

On Apr 30, 2020 at 3:00pm, Janna answered a question. On Jun 13, 2021 at 2:59pm, Janna answered a question. On Jul 1, 2021 at 12:15pm, Janna answered a question. On Jul 5, 2021 at 5:16pm, Janna answered a question.

*No monthly commitment or contracts. Only on demand when you need it.
*Keep in mind that these are just general availabilities and does not account for sessions already booked during these times *Plans are a way that a tutor can offer bulk purchases of tutoring for deep discounts. If you plan on doing multiple sessions with tutors, we recommend choosing a plan.

Questions? Call us at (587) 316-1089